Vance Joy Brought his “Nation Of Two” Tour to Comerica Theatre

Vance Joy

Reviewer and photos by Robbie Flores
Promoter: Live Nation
Venue: Comerica Theatre
Date: April 21st, 2018

“I was scared of dentists and the dark…” ~ Riptide by Vance Joy

Well guys, we finally have an answer as to why Vance Joy, a man with a seemingly perfect smile, is scared of the dentist. During his Nation of Two worldwide tour on April 21st in Phoenix, AZ, Vance shared the story before performing one of his newest tracks, “Little Boy”, from his sophomore album Nation of Two. In front of a packed house at Comerica Theatre, Vance told us about a childhood injury in which he flipped over the handlebars of his bike at 10 years old and knocked out his front tooth! He was given what he describes as a brand new, adult sized giant front tooth! After making it through the insecurities of his youth, he later describes his first experience as a 21-year-old young man going to a night club and having the realization that the same tooth… wait for it… also glowed in the black lights! The audience roared, just as jubilantly as they had been cheering for him all night. And Vance Joy eats up every ounce of the audience enthusiasm! If he locks eyes with a cheering fan, as he did during his performance of “Mess is Mine”, he will focus on you with his sheepish grin and continue to strum his guitar and serenade you. Vance performed a mix of new and old hits and even threw in an energetic, and somewhat unlikely, combination of two cover songs, Lionel Richie’s “All Night Long” followed by Justin Bieber’s “Sorry”. The audience was cheering and dancing throughout the entire show, but they especially went wild with his biggest hit, Riptide, at the end of his set. He then thanked the audience, which he genuinely seems to appreciate, and came back out for his last two songs, “Lay it on Me” and “Saturday Sun”. We are already looking forward to the Vance Joy’s next visit to Phoenix, with his sweet demeanor and glowing smile 😉

Photos © Robbie Flores 2018, All Rights Reserved

Vance Joy Set List:
1) Call If You Need Me
2) Mess Is Mine
3) Like Gold
4) Take Your Time
5) Alone With Me
6) Fire and the Flood
7) I’m With You
8) Little Boy
9) Bonnie & Clyde
10) Wasted Time
11) Georgia
12) One of These Days
13) All Night Long/Sorry
14) We’re Going Home
15) Riptide
16) Lay It on Me
17) Saturday Sun


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here