Jackson Browne 08.19.16


F41A6487 Jackson Browne 081916Jackson Browne appeared at the Mesa Arts Center on August 19, 2016 in a sold-out performance.  Browne is touring in support of his 2014 studio album Standing in the Breach, his 14th studio album.  Browne received an enthusiastic response from the crowd, many of whom have obviously been fans for a long time.

Browne’s voice was warm and welcoming.  The song selection was a terrific retrospective of a career that spans more than 40 years – including 7 platinum studio albums – and was well-paced throughout both the first and second sets.  Backed by longtime band mates Val McCallum (guitar), Mauricio Lewak (Drums), Jeff Young (keyboards), Bob Glaub (bass), Alethea Mills (Vocals) and multi-instrumentalist Greg Leisz (guitar, lap steel, pedal steel), the musicians accompanying Jackson were tremendous as well.

Browne will be on tour on the west coast with his band through August 30th, with the shows on August 29th and 30th being a short drive away in San Diego.  Browne will come back through Arizona in the fall with an acoustic show in Tucson on October 7th.

Photos and review by Greg Cohen

All photos © Greg Cohen 2016

The set list included:

Set 1:

  • Rock Me on the Water
  • Just Say Yeah
  • Fountain of Sorrow
  • The Long Way Around
  • Call It a Loan
  • I’m Alive
  • Carmelita
  • For Everyman
  • Sleep’s Dark and Silent Gate
  • Walls and Doors
  • For a Dancer
  • Doctor My Eyes

Set 2:

  • The Birds of St. Marks
  • Your Bright Baby Blues
  • Which Side
  • These Days
  • Somebody’s Baby
  • Redneck Friend
  • The Barricades of Heaven
  • Sky Blue and Black
  • The Pretender
  • Running on Empty


  • Take It Easy
  • Our Lady of the Well


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here